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WHAT IS SMALL CLAIMS COURTI 

The Small Claims Court is an informal court where individuals can 
sue for money only, up to $3,000 in Town or Village Courts, and 
$5,000 in City Courts, without a lawyer. If you have a claim for 
damages for more than $3,000/5,000 you cannot separate it into 
two or more claims to meet the $3,000/5,000 limit. 

If you believe that a person or business damaged something you 
own, you may sue that person or business for the monetary amount 
of your damages. You cannot sue in Small Claims Court to force a 
person or business to perform a task, such as to fix a damaged item, 
or to fulfill a promise made in an advertisement. The court may 
not order the return of a personal item. Your lawsuit may be for 
money only. 

You may sue a municipality (i.e., a town, village, city or county), 
public benefit corporation, school district or school district public 
library in Small Claims Court. However, the law requires you to noti­
fy the municipality of your intention to sue. Notice must be given to 
the municipality within 90 days after the occurrence of the incident 
that is the subject of your suit. If you do not notify the municipality 
within 90 days of the incident, your case may be dismissed. 

You must bring your claim in the municipality (or, if it's a city 
court action, in the county) in which the person or entity you are 
suing resides, or has an office for the transaction of business or 
regular employment. 

WHO CAN USE SMALL CLAIMS COURT? 

Anyone 18 years of age or over can sue in Small Claims Court. If you 
are younger than 18, your parent or guardian may sue on your 
behalf. Generally, corporations, partnerships, associations, or 
assignees cannot sue in Small Claims Court.1 They can, however, be 
sued in Small Claims Court. A corporation may authorize an attor­
ney, officer, director, or employee of the corporation to appear on 
its behalf to defend an action. 

The party who brings the suit in Small Claims Court is referred 
to as the "Claimant" or the "Plaintiff". The party that is being sued 
is referred to as the "Defendant". 

1 Any corporation, Including a municipal corporation or public benefit corporation, partnership, or association, 
which has its principal office In the State of New York. or an assignee of any commercial claim, may file a claim 
In Commercial Claims Court. Commercial Claims Courts are located In the New York City Civil Court, In all city 
courts, and in the district courts In Nassau and Suffolk Counties. Consult your telephone book for the address 
and phone number of your local court, and call that local court for information. 
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If you are sued and you believe that someone else (a third party) 
is responsible for the claim, you may be able to bring that party into 
the lawsuit as a defendant. Contact the Small Claims Court for infor­
mation about starting a "Third Party Action". 

Most Small Claims Courts have a clerk who can assist you with 
the procedures for bringing your lawsuit. In those town or village 
courts that do not have clerks, the judge may assist you. When this 
booklet mentions the clerk, but the court you are using does not 
have a clerk, you should seek the assistance of a judge. 

Because the small claims procedures are informal, you do not 
need an attorney to represent you. You may, however, choose to 
hire an attorney to represent you. If there are attorneys on both 
sides, the case may be transferred to a regular civil part of the court. 

WHERE ARE THE SMALL CLAIMS COURTS LOCATED? 

There is a Small Claims Court in every city, town2 and village located 
in New York State. 

Consult your telephone book for the address and phone 
number of your local court and call that local court for information. 

HOW DO I START A SMALL CLAIMS CASE? 

You or, if you suffer from an illness or infirmity, someone on your 
behalf, must go to the Small Claims Court to file a statement of your 
claim. The court will provide the necessary forms. 

The statement should be brief. It should include a description of 
the incident that is the basis for your claim, including all important 
names and dates. If you are suing over a contract or for property 
damage, you may claim interest as well as damages. 

In a Town or Village Court, if your claim is $1,000 or less, you will 
be required to pay a $10 filing fee. If your claim is for more than 
$1,000, you will be required to pay a $15 filing fee. In a City Court, if 
your claim is $1,000 or less, you will be required to pay a $15 filing 
fee. If your claim is for more than $1,000, you will be required to pay 
a $20 filing fee. The fees are payable at the time of filing. 

The clerk will provide the date and time of the small claims 
hearing. The clerk will "serve" the notice of claim by mailing it to 
the defendant. The notice informs the defendant when and where 

i In Nassau County and the western part of Suffolk County, towns are served by district courts, which have Small 
Claims Courts. · 
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to appear for the hearing, and gives the reason for the claim and 
the amount of the claim. The notice will be mailed to the defen­
dant by certified mail and by ordinary first-class mail. If the notice 
sent by first-class mail is not returned by the post office within 21 
days as undeliverable, the defendant is deemed to be served, even 
if the notice sent by certified mail has not been delivered. 

If the post office cannot deliver the notice of your claim (for 
example, the defendant may have moved without leaving a 
forwarding address), and you believe that the defendant remains 
within the jurisdiction of the court, the court will give you a new 
hearing date and may instruct you on how to arrange for personal 
delivery of the notice to the defendant. 

The hearing cannot take place until the defendant has been 
served with the notice of claim. 

If the notice of claim cannot be served on the defendant within 
four months after the claim has been filed, the claim will be dis­
missed. However, if you learn new information about the 
defendant's location at a later date, you can file your claim again. 

MUST I KNOW THE DEFENDANT'S CORRECT NAME? 

When you file your small claim, you must provide the name and 
place of residence or place of business or employment of the person 
or business you want to sue. You may obtain the correct or "legal" 
name of a business by contacting the office of the County Clerk in 
the county where the business is located. 

If, after you have filed your papers, you discover that the defen­
dant has a "legal" name that you did not use, you may return to 
the Small Claims Court and have the papers changed to state the 
correct name of the defendant. 

WHAT IS A COUNTERCLAIM? 

A acounterclaima is a claim filed against you by the defendant-a 
countersuit. The counterclaim must be for money only. The amount 
of the counterclaim cannot be more than $3,000 in Town or Village 
Court or $5,000 in City Court. Any counterclaim for more than 
$3,000 must be brought in another part of the court or in a differ­
ent court having the needed jurisdiction. 

The defendant is required to file his or her counterclaim with 
the court within five days of receiving the notice of claim and must 
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pay the court fee of $3 for actions brought in a Town or a Village 
Court, or $5 for actions brought in a City Court, plus the cost of 
mailing the counterclaim to you. If the defendant fails to file a 
counterclaim within the five-day period, the defendant may still file 
a claim up until the time of the hearing. The judge then may either 
proceed with the hearing or adjourn the hearing for a period no 
longer than 20 days or as soon thereafter as may be practicable. 
However, if the defendant did not file the counterclaim within the 
five-day period, the judge must adjourn the hearing to a later date 
if you ask the judge to postpone the hearing because you believe 
you are not prepared to defend against the counterclaim. In some 
cases, the judge might decide to delay the hearing even if you do 
not ask for a postponement. 

You have the right to reply to a counterclaim but are not 
required to do so. 

If you receive notice of a counterclaim with enough time before 
the date of your hearing, be prepared to present your claim and 
also defend against the counterclaim on the day of your hearing. 

CAN I CHANGE THE DATE OF MY HEARING? 

If you are seeking to postpone the date of your hearing or other 
court procedure, you are seeking an 11adjournment. 11 Only the court 
may decide if an adjournment is to be granted. Adjournments in 
the Small Claims Court are discouraged, since the purpose of Small 
Claims Court is to have cases quickly decided. 

HOW DO I ASK FOR AN ADJOURNMENT? 

If you are going to ask for an adjournment, you should notify the 
court by mail before the scheduled date of your hearing. Also, you 
should mail a copy of your letter to the other party. If on the day 
of the hearing you find you cannot attend or are not prepared to 
present your case, either you or someone else on your behalf should 
appear in the Small Claims Court to explain to the judge why you 
need an adjournment. 

If you do not have a good excuse, your request for an adjourn­
ment may be denied. If your request for an adjournment is denied 
and you are not ready to start your hearing, your small claim may 
be dismissed. If you are the defendant and you do not appear at 
your hearing, the judge may award the claimant a judgment 
against you based only upon evidence provided by the claimant 
(a default judgment). 
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WHAT SHOULD I DO ON THE DAY OF MY HEARING? 

On the day of your hearing, you should arrive at the courthouse at 
least 15 minutes before the Small Claims Court session begins. 
When you arrive at the courthouse, look for a Small Claims Court 
calendar or for a clerk or court officer to assist you. Usually, the cal­
endar is posted outside the courtroom. Your case will be listed by 
your last name and by the last name of the defendant. If your case 
is not listed on the Small Claims Court calendar, or if a calendar is 
not posted outside the courtroom, speak to the court clerk; if there 
is no clerk present, speak to the judge. In some courts, the clerk 
may check names as people arrive; in others, you must wait until 
the case is called. 

tf a claimant does not arrive at the courthouse on time, the 
daimant's case may be dismissed. If the defendant does not arrive 
at the courthouse on time, the judge may hear and decide the case 
based only on evidence provided by the claimant (a default judgment). 

Court rules require that the judge wait at least one hour before 
holding a hearing or entering a judgment in favor of the claimant. 

WHAT SHOULD I DO WHEN MY CASE IS CALLED? 

The Small Claims Court clerk or, if there is no clerk, the judge will 
announce your case and call your name. If you are not ready to 
begin and need to ask for an adjournment, or if you have some 
other request, you should tell the court at this time. If you and the 
defendant are both ready, the case will go forward. 

SHOULD I CHOOSE A JUDGE OR A MEDIATOR OR 
ARBITRATOR? 

Some larger town and village courts and some city courts use the 
services of volunteer mediators and arbitrators to assist parties in 
resolving their cases. Check with the court clerk regarding the avail­
ability of arbitrators or mediators for your case. Local rules may apply. 

6 

Mediation 
Mediation is a confidential, non-binding dispute resolution­
process in which an impartial mediator helps parties identify 
issues, expl·ore options and reach a mutually acceptable outcome. 
In mediation, you control the outcome and make your own deci­
sions, as opposed to leaving the decision to an arbitrator or a 
judge. Mediators do not offer their own opinions regarding 
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likely court outcomes or pressure you to settle your dispute. 
Instead, mediators offer the parties the opportunity to expand 
the settlement discussion b~yond the le.gal issues in controver~y 
and focus on developing creative solutions that emphasize the 
parties' interests and practical concerns. 

If a mediation program is available through the court, 
and if both sides agree, the court may refer the case to media­
ti.on. Your .case .can.be scheduled. fo.r mediation .quickly, at.a .time 
and place convenient to all parties. All discussions in mediation 
are confidential by law. Mediation gives you ample time to dis­
cuss all of the issues important to you. If both parties consent, 
an agreement may be written with the help of the mediator and 
signed by both parties. Written ~greements may be enforceable 
in court. If you do not reach agreement, you may continue your 
case in court. 

The parties also can agree to take the case to mediation 
before filing in court. Mediators are available through 
.comm.unit¥ .dispute .. resolution centers - .funded in. part.by .. the 
New York State Unified Court System - in all 62 counties of New 
York State. These mediators are trained under NYS Unified 
Court System standards. You may locate your nearest communi­
ty dispute resolution center by checking your telephone book 
under "mediation" or "dispute resolution," by asking 
the court clerk, or by checking the listing on the Internet at 
www.courts.state.ny.us/adr/cdrcp/progtabl.html. There is 
normally no charge for mediation, although there may be a 
small filing fee. 

Arbitration 
Arbitration is a binding dispute resolution process in which 
one or more arbitrators hear arguments, weigh evidence and 
issue a final judgment on the merits after an expedited hearing. 

Arbitrators, many of whom are experienced attorneys, are 
specially trained to hear and decide small claims cases. Because 
there are more arbitrators available to hear cases than there are 
judges, an arbitrator usually will hear your claim sooner than a 
judge would. Your case can be heard by an arbitrator only if 
both sides agree. The hearing before an arbitrator is informal 
and may be less stressful for both parties. The arbitrator applies 
the same law to your case as a judge would apply. When an 
arbitrator determines a case, the decision is final, and there is no 
further appeal by either the claimant or the defendant. 
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CAN I DEMAND A JURY TRIAL? 

The claimant cannot demand a jury trial in Small Claims Court. A 
defendant, however, may demand a trial by jury any time prior to 
the day of the hearing. If a defendant demands a jury trial, the 
defendant must pay a jury fee and file a $50.00 11 undertaking 11 (a 
security deposit) with the court to guarantee the payment of costs 
that may be awarded against the defendant. The defendant also is 
required to submit an affidavit specifying the issues of fact which 
the defendant desires to have tried by a jury, and stating that such 
trial is desired and demanded in good faith. If the Judge is satisfied 
that the defendant's affidavit presents justification to take a claim 
out of the small claims part, the judge may order that the case be 
moved over to the regular civil part of the court, where a jury trial 
is permitted and where the rules of evidence apply. 

If a jury trial is held in the small claims part, your claim will be 
heard by six jurors. Contact the court clerk regarding the proce­
dures and fees for obtaining a jury trial. 

PREPARING FOR HEARING/TRIAL 
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Evidence 

Before you appear in court, you should gather all the evidence 
necessary to prove your claim or your defense. Anything that 
will help prove the facts in dispute should be brought to court. 
This includes photographs, written agreements, an itemized bill 
or invoice that is receipted or marked npaid 11

, written estimates 
of the cost of the service or repairs, a receipt for the purchase of 
an item or the payment of a debt, canceled checks, and corre­
spondence. If you rely on estimates, at least two different writ­
ten itemized estimates of the cost of the service or repairs are 
required. If possible, merchandise that is in dispute should be 
brought to court. 

Testimony, including your own, is evidence. Any witness 
whose testimony is important to your case may testify. This can 
be a person who witnessed your transaction or someone whose 
special knowledge and experience makes him or her an expert 
on the cost of the service or repairs that were provided or may 
be required. If you are unable to get a witness to appear volun­
tarily, you may apply for issuance of a subpoena to the clerk of 
the Small Claims Court. 
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Subpoena 
A "subpoena" is a legal document that commands the person 
named in the subpoena to appear in court. An expert witness 
may not be compelled to testify by subpoena, but you may pay 
the expert witness for coming to court to testify. You also may 
apply to the clerk of the Small Claims Court for issuance of a 
11 subpoena duces tecum," which is a legal document that directs 
someone to produce a bill, receipt, or other written document 
or record you need. Either party may apply for issuance of a 
subpoena up to 48 hours before the trial date. 

You must arrange for service of the subpoena and the 
payment of a $15.00 witness fee and, where appropriate, travel 
expenses for the person subpoenaed. Except where the travel is 
entirely within a city, a subpoenaed witness is entitled to travel 
expenses for mileage to and from the court, from the place he 
or she was served with the subpoena. Contact the court clerk 
regarding current mileage rates. Service of the subpoena may 
be done by any person {including a friend or relative) who is 18 
years of age or older, except that you or any other party to the 
action may not serve the subpoena. 

HOW IS A HEARING/TRIAL CONDUCTED? 

The claimant's case is presented first. After being sworn as a wit­
ness, the claimant will tell his or her version of the incident. All 
papers or other evidence should be shown at this time. When the 
claimant has finished testifying, the defendant, the judge or the 
arbitrator may ask some questions to clarify matters. Other witness­
es can be presented in support of the claimant and they, too, can 
be questioned by the judge or arbitrator or the defendant. 

The defendant then, if he or she wishes to testify, wi 11 be sworn 
and tell his or her side of the story and present evidence. The 
defendant may also present other witnesses. The claimant or the 
judge or arbitrator may ask questions of the defendant and the wit­
nesses called by the defendant. 

If you are suing a business, be certain to ask the defendant's 
witness the full and correct legal name of the business and the 
name of the person who owns the business. If the name of the 
business is different from the name you wrote in your notice of 
claim, ask the judge or arbitrator to make any correction/amend­
ment in the name on your notice of claim. 
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After all the evidence is in, the judge or arbitrator will consider 
the evidence and render a decision. The decision, together with 
information to judgment creditor and judgment debtor, will be 
mailed to the parties after the hearing. In some cases, the decision 
may be announced immediately after the trial. 

DISCLOSURE OF ASSETS 

It is your responsibility to collect information on the defendant's 
assets in the event you receive a judgment in your favor and the 
defendant does not pay you. (See 0 How Can I Collect My 
Judgment? 0 and "Locating Assets"). The court has the power to 
examine a party and to order that party to disclose his or her assets, 
and to restrain that party from disposing of those assets. 

WHAT HAPPENS IF ONE PARTY DOES NOT APPEAR? 

If the claimant does not appear in court when the case is called, the 
case will be dismissed. 

If the defendant does not appear, the court will hold an 
11 inquese (hearing). That means that the claimant will go before 
the judge or arbitrator to present evidence to prove his or her case 
without the defendant presenting any evidence. If the claimant's 
case is proved, a 0 defaultn judgment will be awarded against 
the defendant. 

If a default judgment is granted because the defendant did not 
appear, or the case is dismissed because the claimant did not 
appear, the losing party may ask the court to re-open the case and 
restore it for a hearing/trial upon a showing of good cause. On the 
return date, the judge will decide whether to re-open the case. 
However, both sides should be prepared to proceed in the event the 
case is re-opened. 

WHAT HAPPENS IF THERE IS A SETTLEMENT? 

In a lawsuit, one of the parties must always lose. Although you 
believe you are entitled to win, the judge or arbitrator may rule 
against you. Therefore, parties to a small claims action are encour­
aged to settle their cases whenever possible. You should seriously 
consider a reasonable offer of settlement. 

If the case is settled before the day of trial and the parties do 
not wish to appear, both parties should notify the court in writing. 
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If a case is settled but the money has not been paid, or if settle­
ment talks are moving forward but are not completed, the claimant 
may wish to appear in court, so that the case is not dismissed, and 
ask the judge for an a adjournment pending settlement. a A new 
date will then be set for a hearing/trial. If the settlement does not 
work out, both parties should appear in court on the new 
adjourned date prepared to proceed. 

WHAT HAPPENS WHEN THERE IS A DECSION 
(OR JUDGMENT)? 

When the judge or arbitrator has decided the case, a decision is 
filed in the court records, and it is called a small claims judgment. 
The court will notify the claimant and defendant who appeared at 
the hearing or trial that a decision has been filed. 

If a monetary amount is awarded, the party against whom the 
judgment is awarded is called the "judgment debtor." The party 
who is awarded an amount is called the "judgment creditor." 

CAN I APPEAL THE DECISION? 

When you appeal a decision, you ask a higher court to review the 
decision for errors. An appeal is not a retrial, but it is the review of 
the trial court's decision by a higher court called an appellate court. 
The appellate court will consider whether the judge's decision rep­
resents "substantial justice." The appellate court will not reverse a 
small claims decision because a technical mistake was made during 
the hearing. Unless the decision is "clearly erroneous," the small 
claims decision will not be overturned. 

If you decide to appeal, you must notify the other party (or par­
ties) in writing that you are appealing by filing a notice of appeal, 
together with an affidavit that you served that notice on the other 
party (or parties), in the Small Claims Court within 30 days after you 
receive in court a copy of the judgment, or within 30 days of 
personal delivery of the judgment to you by another party to the 
case, or within 35 days after the clerk of the court or another party 
to the case mails you a copy of the judgment. 

If you appeal, you must pay the required fee to file the notice 
of appeal. The appealing party also must purchase a typed tran­
script of the hearing if a stenographer was present. In courts that 
use electronic recorders, contact the court for instructions. If no 
stenographic minutes were taken, the court will prepare a state­
ment of what took place during the proceeding. Consult the small 
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claims clerk for information regarding the fees and how to obtain a 
copy of the minutes or transcript. 

The Small Claims Court Clerk cannot help you decide whether 
to appeal the decision. You may need the help of an attorney to 
appeal the decision. 

Even if the small claims judgment is appealed, the amount 
awarded must be paid unless a bond or undertaking is paid to the 
Small Claims Court to guarantee payment of the judgment if the 
appeal is lost. If you have been awarded a judgment and you 
receive notice of an appeal, you should call the small claims clerk to 
find out if a bond or undertaking has been paid before attempting 
to collect your judgment. 

COLLECTING YOUR JUDGMENT: 
WHAT DO I DO IF I WIN A JUDGMENT? 

The winning party, or judgment creditor, will receive a "notice of 
judgment." The notice of judgment will include the judge's decision 
as well as information regarding enforcement officers and ways to 
collect your judgment. You must read all the information printed on 
the notice of judgment before you begin your collection efforts. 

Winning a judgment does not guarantee payment; however, it 
does give you the right to collect it. A money judgment is legally 
enforceable for 20 years. 

HOW CAN I COLLECT MY JUDGMENT? 

First, contact the judgment debtor and request payment of the judg­
ment amount. If the judgment debtor refuses to pay the judgment 
amount, you may need the services of an enforcement officer. 

WHAT IS AN ENFORCEMENT OFFICER? 

An enforcement officer can, for a fee, take a judgment debtor's assets 
to pay your judgment. An enforcement officer can be the county 
sheriff, local police officer, city marshal or town or village constable. 

Remember that you may ask the court to examine a party, 
order that party to disclose his or her assets, and restrain that party 
from disposing of those assets. (See "Disclosure of Assets''). This 
information may be useful when you seek the assistance of an 
enforcement officer. Otherwise, you will have to locate the judge­
ment debtor's assets yourself before contacting an enforcement officer. 
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LOCATING ASSETS 

Information Subpoenas 
The enforcement officer cannot 1ocate the judgment debtor~ 
assets for you. You must provide this information to the 
enforcement officer. 

An "information subpoena" is a legal document that directs 
a person, corporation or other business to answer certain ques­
tions about where the judgment debtor's assets can be found. 
You may use an information subpoena to obtain information 
about the scope and location of the judgment debtor's assets. 

The small claims clerk will issue an information subpoena for 
a fee, will assist you with the preparation and use of the infor­
mation subpoena, will sign the information subpoena, and also 
may provide a pre-printed questionnaire to include as part of the 
subpoena. The small claims clerk cannot, however, give you legal 
advice or make a specific determination whether particular assets 
may be taken or may be exempt. You also may purchase the 
necessary forms from a legal supply store or copy the necessary 
forms from a legal form book that may be found in any law library. 

You may send an information subpoena to the judgment 
debtor and to any person, corporation or other business that you 
believe has knowledge about the judgment debtor's assets" such 
as a telephone or utility company, employer, landlord or bank. 
You should send the information subpoena, two copies of the 
written questions and an envelope addressed to yourself with 
the correct amount of postage. These documents may be sent by 
regular mail or by certified mail, return receipt requested. 

Other Ways to Find A Judgment Debtor's Assets 
If you or someone you know has a canceled check given to 
the judgment debtor, the name of the judgment debtor's bank 
may appear on the back. You can provide this information to 
the enforcement officer. 

You can check with the New York State Department of 
Motor Vehicles to find out if the judgment debtor owns a car. If 
the judgment debtor owns a car, the enforcement officer can 
take it and sell it to pay your judgment. You must give the 
enforcement officer the model. year. license plate number and 
location of the car. If the judgment debtor borrowed money to 
buy the car, that loan must be paid before you can get any 
money from the sale. Also, you will have to pay towing and stor-
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age fees in advance to the enforcement officer. You should con­
tact the enforcement officer regarding the amount of these fees. 

Executions 
Once you receive information regarding the location of the 
judgment debtor's assets, you need to obtain an "execution," 
which is a document signed by the court clerk or the judgment 
creditor's attorney, that directs the enforcement officer to take a 
.judgment debtor's .p.roperfy or money. The execution provides 
information to the enforcement officer regarding the assets you 
want taken and where they can be found. 

Executions are legal documents, and a form for an execution 
may be obtained from a law library or a legal supply store. 
There are two types of executions: 

"Income Executions" direct the enforcement officer to 
obtain payment from the judgment debtor's wages until the full 
amount of your judgment is paid. 

"Property Executions" direct the enforcement officer to 
obtain payment through other means, such as bank accounts or 
sale of property. Preparation of these documents is not the duty 
of the small claims clerk or the enforcement officer. You have 
the responsibility of obtaining and properly preparing execution 
papers and obtaining the required signature of the clerk or attorney. 

If you are preparing an execution for personal property (not 
real estate or wages) located within the same county as the 
Small Claims Court in which the judgment was entered, your 
attorney or the small claims clerk, at the discretion of the judge 
of that court, may sign the execution papers for issuance. If the 
personal property is ·located in a county dtffere·nt ·from the one 
in which judgment was entered, contact the County Clerk of 
that county for information about how to proceed. 

WHAT IF THE JUDGMENT DEBTOR OWNS REAL ESTATE? 

If the judgment debtor owns real estate, you may be able to collect 
your judgment when the real estate is sold by putting a "lien" on 
the property for the amount of the judgment. Ownership of all real 
property is recorded in the County Clerk's office. In order to put a 
lien against real _property~ you must _get a "transcript of judgment" 
from the Small Claims Court clerk and file it with the County Clerk 
of the county in which the Small Claims Court is located. There is a 
fee for obtaining a transcript of judgment. You may contact the 
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County Clerk's office regarding the amount of the fee and how to 
go about filing a transcript of judgment there. 

tf. the .real estate is situated in another county other than the 
county in which the small claims judgment was entered, a second 
transcript of judgment will need to be obtained from the County 
Clerk in whose office the first transcript of judgment was filed. The 
second transcript of judgment then must be filed with the County 
Clerk in the county where the real prqperfy is located. 

If there are other liens filed against the property, they may take 
priority over yours. A lien against real property is enforceable for 
ten years and may be extended by special motion to the appropri­
ate County Court. A procedure for forcing sale may be discussed 
with the sheriff. 

HOW MUCH WILL I HAVE TO PAY THE 
ENFORCEMENT OFFICER? 

Enforcement officers generally charge as a fee a percentage of the 
amount collected. They also may require you to pay certain fees in 
advance ·for the expenses required to execute on the property. for 
example, you must pay the enforcement officer a mileage fee, in 
advance, for a property execution, and you may have to pay in 
advance for an income execution. You may wish to contact the 
enforcement officer to determine the amount of any fees. If you 
think that you will need the services of an enforcement officer, you 
may ask that the court include the enforcement officer's fees as a 
"disbursement" in your case. "Disbursements" are certain out-of­
pocket expenses that are granted to the winner of the case. You 
must be able to verify the amount of any claimed disbursements in 
order to have them included in your judgment. 

If you receive payment directly from the judgment debtor after 
you hire an enforcement officer, you will still be responsible to the 
enforcement officer for all fees already paid, plus a percentage of 
the amount you received. This is true even if you received the pay­
ment or came to a settlement without .any assistance from the 
enforcement officer. 

ARE THERE ANY OTHER WAYS 
TO MAKE A JUDGMENT DEBTOR PAY? 

If your small claim was based on the judgment debtor's ownership 
or operation of a car, and your judgment was over $1,000 and has 
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remained unpaid for more than 15 days, contact the New York State 
Department of Motor Vehicles about suspending the judgment 
debtor's driver's license until your judgment is paid. 

If your small claim arises out of the conducting of the judgment 
debtor's licensed or certified business, and your judgment has 
remained unpaid for 35 days, you can notify the appropriate state 
or local licensing authority. Failure to pay a judgment may be con­
sidered ~y the authority as Q.rounds for revoking~ su~pending, or 
refusing to grant or renew a license to operate a business. Contact 
the Department of State with this information. 

If the court finds the judgment debtor's business appears to be 
engaged in fraudulent or illegal acts in the conducting of the busi­
nes.s, you hav.e the right to notify the Attorney General, as w.eU as 
any appropriate licensing or certifying authority. 

Prominent state licensing or certifying authorities are listed at 
the end of this manual. You may wish to contact the local government 
to get information and addresses of such agencies in the local area. 

TREBLE DAMAGES IF THE JUDGMENT DEBTOR HAS FAILED 
TO PAY THREE OR MORE JUDGMENTS 

If a judgment debtor has failed to pay two previously recorded small 
claims judgments against anyone despite having sufficient resources 
to pay them, you may be able to sue the defendant for "treble dam­
ages" -three times the amount of the damages. You may check 
with the Small Claims court clerk and the County Clerk to find out if 
the judgment debtor has other unsatisfied small claims judgments. 

WHAT HAPPENS WHEN THE JUDGMENT IS PAID? 

The judgment debtor must receive sufficient proof that the 
judgment is paid in full (or "satisfied"). 

The judgment creditor should then notify the Small Claims 
Court~ and any court that a transcript of judgment has been filed· in, 
that the judgment has been satisfied. If the judgment was paid 
through an execution, the enforcement officer will file the satisfied 
execution with the clerk of the court from which it was issued. The 
enforcement officer will also mail a copy to the judgment debtor. 
The judgment creditor is still responsible for notifying the court that 
the judgment is satisfied. Failure to provide notice of satisfaction in 
a timely manner may result in penalties. 
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SOME PROMINENT STATE LICENSING OR 
CERTIFYING AUTHORITIES: 

Department of Agricufture and Markets 
- regulatory authority includes the issuing of permits for and 

licensing of: 
• manufacturers, wholesalers and handlers of frozen desserts; 
• dealers, brokers and commercial merchants for the sale of 

farm ·products; 
• milk dealers; 
• retail food establishments; 
• nurseries and greenhouses; 
• food processing establishments; 
• refrigerated warehouses, locker plants and fresh foods; 
• operators of purebred dog kennels; 
• anyone who deals in, handles or transports domestic 

animals, or operates a livestock auction. 

Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control 
- issues licenses and permits for the manufacture, distribution 

and sale of alcoholic beverages within the State. 

Banking Department 
- the primary regulator for state-licensed and state-chartered 

financial entities, including domestic banks, foreign agencies, 
branches and representative offices, savings institutions and 
trust companies, mortgage bankers and brokers, check 
cashiers, money transmitters and licensed lenders. The 
Department also enforces laws and policies dealing with 
consumer credit and other financial services, the prevention of 
illegal lending and other consumer abuses. 

Commission on Cable Television 
- issues confirmation certificates for new franchises, renews 

franchises and terminates franchises. 

Education Department 
- licenses certain trade and businesses, as well as computer­

training facilities throughout the State. It reg"isters an 
post-secondary educational programs. 
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The Education Department also licenses approximately thirty 
professions, including the following: 

• Physicians and physician's assistants 

• Physical therapists 

• Dentists and dental hygienists 

• Optometrists 

• Chiropractors 

• Veterinarians 

• Pharmacists 

• Accountants 

• f nterior designers 

• Nurses 

• Podiatrists 

• Engineers 

• Acupuncturists 

• Architects 

• Psychologists 

• Social workers 

• Teachers 

Department of Environmental Conservation 
- principal regulatory programs include: water and air pollution 

control; radioactive waste control; solid and hazardous waste 
management; waste transport; mining; public water supply; 
dams; and protection of freshwater a.nd tidaJ wetlands. streams 
and navigable waters. The Department also regulates mining 
and the extraction and underground storage of gas and oil. 

Insurance Department 
- issues licenses and permits, conducts examinations and adminis­

ters fines retating to insurance companies, agents, brokers and 
adjusters, consultants, reinsurance intermediaries and bail bondsmen. 

Judicial Branch 
Four Departments of the Appellate Division 
- conduct proceedings to admit, suspend or disbar attorneys who 

wish to practice or are practicing law in New York State courts. 
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Department of Labor 
- has regulatory jurisdiction in the areas of employee safety and 

health, employee earnings, and employee coverage under 
unemployment insurance; issues ficenses for asbestos opera­
tions, crane operators, explosives and blasting companies and 
amusement park rides. 

Division of the Lottery 
- lkenses seJ.lers of lottery tickets. 

Department of Motor Vehicles 
- regulates the registration and titling of motor vehicles and 

issues driver's licenses. 

The Department also licenses or registers: 
• Inspection stations 
• Driving schools and instructors 
• Repair shops 
• Dealers and transporters 
• The vehicle salvage industry 
• Snowmobiles, an-terrain vehides, motorboats 

Public Service Commission 
- has the power of general supervision of all gas, electric, and 

waterworks corporations, and telephone and telegraph lines. 
Approves rates for privately owned gas,. electric. steam, tele­
phone, telegraph, radio telephone and waterworks corporations. 

Racing and Wagering Board 
- issues licenses to owners, trainers, assistant trainers, jockeys, 

drivers, jockey's agents, veterinarians, farriers, grooms and 
race track ·empfoyees ·involved· in thoroughbred, harness and 
quarter horse racing. The Board also issues licenses required 
to conduct a race meeting with pari-mutual wagering, issues 
licenses to suppliers and renters of bingo and games-of­
chance equipment, and issues identification numbers to those 
conducting ·games-of-chance, raffle-or bingo--operations. It 
also regulates off-track betting facilities and casinos. 

Department of Social Services 
- regulates residential foster care of children, day care facilities 

for children and adults, special care homes for unwed mothers 
and victims of domestic violence and workshops.for the blind. 
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Department of Taxation and Finance 
- issues licenses to wholesale dealers of cigarettes and state 

lottery ticket vendors. 

The Department is also responsible for the registration of: 
• Alcoholic beverage distributors 
• Motor fuel distributors 
• Diesel motor fuel retailers and bulk purchasers 
• Owners of diesel motor vehicles 
• ·Flea market promoters 
• Vendors required to collect sales tax 
• Organizations exempt from sales tax 

Department of Transportation 
- regutates. 'railroads, ·bus, and moving and tradting. companies. 

The Department also grants licenses to public utility compa­
nies for real estate rights on Department-controlled property. 

Department of State 
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- issues licenses to the real estate and cosmetology industries, 
private investigators and notaries. 
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STATE OF NEW YORK 
TOWN COURT 

Name and address of defendant 

COUNTY OF ONTARIO 
TOWN OF RICHMOND 

NOTICE 
of 

SMALL CLAIMS 

Please take notice the undersigned plaintiff, residing at -------------

----------------asked judgment in this Court against you for 

$ ______ plus cost * of$ ____ based upon the following claim: ___ _ 

Date: _____ _ 
Plaintiff: PRINTED NAME and SIGNATURE 

=Costs: Sl0.00 fur claims up to $1000.00 and $15.00 for claims Sl000.01 to $3000.00 
*The Filing fee must be paid by CASH, MONEY ORDER or CERTIFIED CHECK ONLY. {DO NOT 
MAIL CASH) 

There will be a hearing on this claim on_· ________ __,. the ___ day 

of _______ 20_ at ____ o' clock in the afternoon in the Small Claims Part 

of this Court, held in the Richmond Town Hall on Main Street, in Honeoye, New York. 

YOU MUST APPEAR to present your defense or to present any claim you might have against 
the other party at the hearing described above. IF YOU DO NOT APPEAR IN PERSON OR 
BYANA1TORNEYJUDGMENTWILLBEENTEREDAGAINSTYOUEVEN 
THOUGH YOU MAY HA VE A DEFFENSE. If your defense or counter claim is supported 
by witnesses, account books, receipts or other documents YOU MUST BRING THEM TO 
THE HEARING. If you admit the claim but desire time to pay YOU MUST APPEAR 
PERSONALLY AT THE HEARING, state to the Court you require time to pay and show your 
reason for same. 

Date of Notice and Filing:-----
Richmond Town Justice 

If you desire a jury trial, you must, before the day set for the hearing, file with the Court a 
WRITIEN DEMAND FOR A TRIAL BY JURY. You must pay a "demand for jury trial fee,, 
of$10.00 and file an undertaking in the sum of $50.00 or deposit such sum in cash to secure the 
pa-ym.en.t af costs that may be awarded against you. You will be required to make an affidavit 
specifying the issues of fact which you desire to have tried by jwy and also stating that such trial 
is desired and demanded in good faith. Under the law, the Court may award $25.00 more 
additional costs to the plaintiff if the jury trial is demanded by you and a decision is rendered 
against you. 



-....----- ....... --- y --- _ ... _ ... ---

I. Your Small Claim can only be for money up to $3,000. 

2. Corporations & partnerships cannot use the small claims procedure. You must be a sole proprietor or 
an individual to bring a suit Be careful of"PC's". 

3. If younger than 18 your parents or guardian may file a claim for you. 

4. You may bring suit against a individual, corporation, partnership, associations, and assignees. 

S. To file a claim, yourself or someone on your behalf must contact the Small Claims Court in the town, 
village, or cit)' where the Defendant lives, works, or has a place of business. 

6. A filing fee of$10.00 for claims up to $1,000, and $15.00 for a claim over $1,000. 

7. Each party involved in the small claim action should receive a copy of A Guide to Small Claims. 

8. A notice of claim will be sent by the court, both certified mail and ordinmy first class mail. 

9. Notice of claim must be sent 21 days before appearance date and if mail is not returned they are 
presumed to have received notice. 

10. If notice is returned to post office as undeliverable, the court will set a new trial date, and personal 
service will be required by a person at least 18 years of age who is not party to the action. If no service is 
made in four months ftom the start date, the case will be dismissed without prejudice, and an action may 
be brought at a later date. 

11. The defendant has the right to file a counterclaim (fee $3 plus mail cost) up to $3,000, any time up to 
the trial date, if it is not done within five days of receipt of notice of claim, the trial date may be adjomned 
to a later date. 

12. The court shall conduct a hearing so as to do substantial justice between two parties and the court will 
hear all relevant information as it pertains to the claim. (ruling should be made after parties leave the 
hearing). Those giving testimony must be sworn. 

13. A Notice of Small Claims Judgment is required to be sent to both judgment creditor and judgment 
debtor to notify of rights and obligations. 

This in not intended to take the pace ofvour detailed Guide to Small Claims Colll'ls 
Small Claims Quick Check 

Hon. Jade N. Eggleston 

NYS Guide to Small Claims can be found at 

http://www.nycourts.gov/courts/townandvillage/pdfs/SmallClaimsHandbook.pdf 

or by contacting the Court. 585-229-4006 

This form and the filing fee can be mailed to, 

Richmond Town Court 
POBox145 

Honeoye, NY 14471 


